Biographies of EDUCANZ members

Barbara Ala'alatoa

Ms Ala'alatoa has been the Principal of Sylvia Park School in South Auckland since 2006. Last year she was awarded the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education and was shortlisted for the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Award. She has worked as a lecturer and senior lecturer at Auckland College of Education and as a primary school teacher. Ms Ala'alatoa has chaired the National Ministerial Leadership and Teaching Quality Workstream and been a member of the National Workforce Policy Advisory Group and National Curriculum Advisory Group. She has presented at international conferences on education and is a member of the NZCER Pasifika Reference Group.

Anthony Mackay

Mr Mackay is Chief Executive of the Centre for Strategic Education (CSE) Melbourne. He is the moderator of the annual International Summit on the Teaching Profession. He was the inaugural Chair of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) and Deputy Chair of the Australian Curriculum, Assessment & Reporting Authority and has held similar roles in the United States and United Kingdom. He has provided policy advice, consultancy and facilitation for government bodies and agencies, think tanks and leadership teams in Australia, Asia, Europe and North America. Mr Mackay is also Chair of the Global Education Leaders Partnership and adviser to OECD/CERI and is Chair of the National Institute for School Leadership, Washington DC. Mr Mackay is an Honorary Fellow in the Graduate School of Education at the University of Melbourne and Deputy Chair of the Australian Council for Educational Research. He is a Board Director of Asia Education Foundation, the Foundation for Young Australians and Teach for Australia. Mr Mackay is Deputy Chancellor of Swinburne University, Melbourne.

Claire Amos

Ms Amos is the Deputy Principal at Hobsonville Point Secondary School. She brings strong expertise in information communication technology (ICT) and has been a member of the PPTA's ICT advisory committee. She has been Director E-Learning at Epsom Girls Grammar School and ICT in English Forum Facilitator for Cognition Consulting. She is on the NZQA Brainstorming Group – technology and education, an AUT Edge Work – Educational Futures Network Team Member, on the Network for Learning Reference Board and on the National Aspiring Principal Programme. She has sat on the board of NetSafe and the New Zealand Teachers Council as Secondary Teacher Representative. She has also been involved in the NZQA Digital Assessment/Future State Programme and the 21st Century Learning Reference Group.

Simon Heath

Of Ngāi Tahu descent Mr Heath has been Principal of Renwick School since 2008. He has worked as a teacher, deputy principal and principal. Mr Heath is a member of the Ministerial Regional Cross Sector forum and member of *Investing in Educational Success – Blenheim Community of Schools* Working Group. Mr Heath has also been Chair of Mistletoe Bay Trust, Lead Principal for Marlborough e-Learning Project and Eco Schools, the president of the Marlborough Principals Association and an establishment member of the Ministry of Education's Principals Reference Group. In

2012, Mr Heath was one of four school principals awarded a Woolf Fisher Principals Fellowship to complete a course of study at Harvard University School of Educational Leadership.

Ripeka Lessels

Ms Lessels has 30 years' experience in the education sector. Of Tūhoe, Ngati Awa, Te Arawa, Ngati Tūwharetoa descent she has taught at primary and secondary levels and in Māori and English. She is currently on the Principals Council of NZEI representing Te Rohe o Te Waiariki. She is active in Ngā Kura ā lwi o Aotearoa, holding roles in governance and strategic planning. She was a member of the board that transitioned Kawerau North school to a Maori medium kura, Te Whata Tau o Putauaki, and she became the founding principal in 2012. Ms Lessels is a mentor principal and a member of several professional principals associations.

Iva Ropati

Mr Ropati has been Principal of Howick College in Auckland since 2010. Previous roles include serving as Principal of One Tree Hill College. He was a member of the Minister of Education's Cross Sector Forum (2012-2014) and is deputy chair of the Minister of Education's Cross Sector Forum Boys' Achievement focus group. He is a current member of the Auckland Regional Cross Sector Forum. He has been a member of the New Zealand Pasifika Principals Association, been on the Manukau Institute of Technology Pasifika Advisory Board, chaired Cornwall Park District School Board of Trustees, and been on the One Tree Hill College and Howick College boards of trustees. A former professional rugby league player who played three test matches for the Kiwis, he also has governance roles with the New Zealand Rugby League Association and College Sport Auckland. Mr Ropati received the Sir Peter Blake National Leaders Award in June 2009.

Lynda Stuart

Ms Stuart has been a teacher for more than 30 years and is a member of the current New Zealand Teachers Council. She has been the Principal of May Road School in Mt Roskill for nine years and has led a group of schools in the area focused on digital learning initiatives. She has previously been a deputy principal at two other primary schools and held a number of other senior leadership positions. Lynda is a member of the Advisory Group for Learning Auckland and has served as NZEI's Auckland Area Council chairperson. She currently serves on the National Executive of NZEI and has a responsibility within the Principals Council. Lynda has been involved in the governance group of the NZEI/ MOE Joint Initiative and has also been involved in the Inclusive Education Capability Advisory Group.

Helen Timperley

Professor Timperley began her career teaching at West End Primary School in Palmerston North before moving to educational research. She is currently Professor of Learning, Development and Professional Practice at the University of Auckland. For the past year she has been providing expert advice to the Ministerial Advisory Group for Professional Learning and Development. She is also a member of the academic experts advisory group to ERO for the revision of its indicators. Her previous positions at the University of Auckland include Director Starpath project, Principal Investigator Building Evaluative Capability in Schooling Improvement Project, Principal Investigator Research strand for Consortium for

Professional Learning and Deputy Head of School of Learning, Development and Professional Practice. Professor Timperley became an Ordinary Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) in 2009.

Clare Wells

Ms Wells has been the Chief Executive of New Zealand Kindergartens *Te Putahi Kura Puhou o Aotearoa* since 2008. Her previous roles include Policy Advisor for the New Zealand Public Service Association and a Senior Policy Advisor to the Minister of Education. Ms Wells has been on several education boards and groups since 1991, most recently the Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards Panel of Experts, the Minister of Education's Cross Sector Forum and the Minister's Continuity of Early Learning Group, the Children's Action Plan Directorate Workforce Advisory Group, the New Zealand Teachers Council Early Childhood Education Advisory Group (of which she is chair), the Early Childhood Education Quality Working Group and is a member of the Ministry of Education's Early Childhood Advisory Committee.