Winners of the 2021 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards

Prime Minister Education

Frimley Primary School in Hawke’s Bay is the Supreme Award winner of the 2021 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today.

“The past year has been a real test for teachers, schools and local communities. But out of the challenge of COVID-19 we have seen remarkable ingenuity and excellence within our education system,” Jacinda Ardern said.

“At a time when classrooms were closed, the importance of community connection has been highlighted. I congratulate and thank all the award winners for their efforts to help build an education system that benefits all learner in these challenging times.”

The Supreme Award winner, Frimley Primary School, partnered with iwi and their wider community to implement a local curriculum that recognises and values the language, culture and identity of their learners. They also won the Excellence in Teaching & Learning Award. 

This year’s other winners are:

  • Excellence in Engaging – Te Kura Taumata O Panguru, Northland
  • Excellence in Leading – Hastings Girls’ High School, Hawke’s Bay
  • Excellence in Wellbeing Education – Henry Hill School, Hawke’s Bay
  • The 2021 Focus Prize: Excellence in Environmental and Sustainability Education - Oruaiti School, Northland

Chris Hipkins congratulates all of this year’s winners, acknowledging the important role teachers and kaiako play in the lives of all New Zealanders.

“Great teaching, in partnership with whānau and community, can empower our young people to achieve their full potential,” Chris Hipkins said.

“Our vision for education has always been a system where all students feel valued, and their identities and cultures are reflected in their learning. The innovative teaching practices that have been recognised in these awards are great examples of that vision in action.

“Our winners have paved the way for other educators, and their stories will be shared across Aotearoa New Zealand. I hope their achievements and experiences will serve as an inspiration to others in the sector as they support children and young people to succeed.”

The winners in each category will receive a prize package that includes a $20,000 financial award and professional development opportunities. The supreme winner got an additional $30,000.

You can find out more about the 2021 Award winners here: