Two members appointed to Callaghan Innovation Board

  • Hon Dr Megan Woods
Research, Science and Innovation

Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods today announced the appointment of Ms Elena Trout and Mr Matanuku Mahuika to the board of New Zealand’s innovation agency, Callaghan Innovation.

“I would like to welcome Ms Trout and Mr Mahuika to the board of Callaghan Innovation” said Megan Woods.

“Research and innovation provide the key to achieving our ambitions for a more productive, sustainable and resilient economy.

“Callaghan Innovation’s role is to support businesses to commercialise their investments in science, engineering, technology and design, and in undertaking valuable research and development.

“Ms Trout and Mr Mahuika are both experienced directors who will provide expert knowledge and advice to Callaghan Innovation. In particular, their expertise will be valuable as the R&D Tax Incentive is implemented and the upgrade of the Gracefield Innovation Quarter gets underway”, says Megan Woods.

Ms Trout is a qualified civil engineer with extensive experience in the planning, development and implementation of large engineering and technical projects. She has held senior management roles in the energy, transport and infrastructure sectors and has been involved in a number of high-profile and nationally significant socio-economic infrastructure projects. Ms Trout is a past President and Fellow of Engineering New Zealand.

Mr Mahuika has more than 25 years’ experience as a lawyer advising on a wide range of corporate, commercial, Treaty of Waitangi, Māori land and administrative law issues. He has experience in working with early stage and start-up businesses and has held a wide variety of directorships and governance roles. Mr Mahuika’s tribal affiliations are Ngāti Porou and Ngāti Raukawa.

Ms Trout and Mr Mahuika will serve on the board for terms of three years.