Trade Minister In Hong Kong, China

  • Dr Lockwood Smith

Trade Minister Lockwood Smith will spend today and tomorrow in Hong Kong, China, for an informal ministerial meeting of certain World Trade Organisation (WTO) members.

The WTO members are Argentina; Australia; Chile; the Czech Republic; Hong Kong, China; Hungary; Mexico; Morocco; New Zealand; the Republic of Korea; Singapore; Switzerland; Thailand; and Uruguay. They have a common interest in promoting a further set of multilateral trade negotiations, building on the mandated negotiations on agriculture and services to begin in 1999 and 2000 respectively.

While in Hong Kong, China, Dr Smith will also meet Trade and Industry Secretary Chau Tak Hay.

Dr Smith returns to New Zealand on Saturday.