Three members appointed to the Marsden Council

  • Hon Dr Megan Woods
Research, Science and Innovation

Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods today announced a new appointment and two re-appointments to the Marsden Fund Council.

“The Marsden Fund is one of New Zealand’s most prestigious contestable research investment funds, aimed at generating new knowledge with long-term benefit to New Zealand,” says Dr Megan Woods

“The Marsden Fund Council set the direction of the Fund and chooses which proposals receive funding through an annual contestable process. Council members have significant and respected research experience across diverse disciplines of science.

“After successfully completing one-year terms, I am pleased to announce that Professor Jarrod Haar and Professor Cynthia White will be re-appointed to Council for a term of three years.

“I also wish to welcome the appointment of new member, Associate Professor Janet Wilmshurst for a term of three years,” says Minister Woods.

New Council member, Professor Janet Wilmshurst is a member of the Joint Graduate School for Biodiversity and Biosecurity and is employed by both Landcare Research and the University of Auckland. She has strong governance experience from her roles as President and Vice President of the New Zealand Ecological Society.

Professor Cynthia White is currently Research Director of Humanities & Social Sciences at Massey University. She has also held the position of Honorary Research Fellow from the University of New England (Armidale, Australia) since 2012.

Professor Jarrod Haar is of Ngāti Maniapoto and Ngāti Mahuta descent. He is a Professor of Human Resource Management in the Department of Management at the Auckland University of Technology and is the Deputy Director of the New Zealand Work Research Institute.

Professors’ Haar, White and Wilmshurst terms on the Council will end on 28 February 2022.