Tertiary Education Institution Council appointments

  • Hon Chris Hipkins

Education Minister Chris Hipkins today announced six appointments and reappointments to the governing councils of tertiary education institutions.

“I welcome the important skills and experience these appointees bring to the leadership of their institutions,” Chris Hipkins said.

“I also wish to recognise and thank the outgoing members for the valuable service, commitment, and contribution they have made to tertiary education. They are Edward (Eddie) Ellison who was first appointed in 2010 to Te Mana Whakahaere at Te Wananga o Aotearoa and Donna Matahaere-Atariki who has been a Ministerial appointee to the University of Otago council since 2009.

“I also want to take the opportunity to recognise the valuable leadership provided by two university chancellors who step down at the end of the year, Chancellor Steve Smith form Lincoln University who will also leave the council, and Dr John Wood, Chancellor of the University of Canterbury,” Chris Hipkins said.

Dr Wood was elected Chancellor with effect from January 2012. He is a University of Canterbury alumnus, former New Zealand ambassador, chief Crown negotiator in Treaty of Waitangi negotiations and current Chair of the Canterbury District Health Board, and will remain a member of the University Council until 31 July 2019.

The new appointments and reappointments of council members are:

  • Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology: new appointment of Ms Liz Te Amo to 30 April 2021
  • NorthTec: Ms Jane Hindle as council Chair for the 2019 year to cover the period Chair Wayne Jackson is Acting Chief Executive
  • Te Wānanga o Raukawa: new appointment of Mr Tiwana Tibble to 31 December 2022
  • University of Canterbury: reappointment of Ms Sue McCormack to 31 May 2021.
    Ms McCormack has been elected Chancellor from 1 January 2019
  • Lincoln University: reappointment of Mr Andrew (Andy) Macfarlane to 11 June 2020.
  • University of Otago new appointment of Ms Suzanne Ellison MNZM to 31 December 2022.

Biographies for new appointees

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology

  • Liz Te Amo (Te Arawa - Waitaha, Tūhourangi, Tapuika, Ngāti Moko) is Chief Executive Officer for Tauranga-based Maori berryfruit company Miro LP. Before that, Liz was responsible for leading the national Crown-Māori economic development strategy and partnership at the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE). Liz’s career in both the public and private sector has focused on developing New Zealand businesses internationally and, specifically, on growing Māori exporters, leadership and economic development. Her governance roles include Te Hono Primary Sector Leaders group, NZ Rugby Commercial Committee, and Waitaha Group Holdings.

Te Wānanga o Raukawa

  • Tiwana TIBBLE is a Fellow Chartered Accountant with experience in Investment Banking and Iwi Development. He has been a high achieving Chief Executive, having grown Ngāti Whatua Orakei assets from $50 million to over $600 million in 15 years. Mr Tibble now focuses on a broader range of Maori Land Development opportunities, including Geothermal Power, Forestry, Tourism, Horticulture, Fishing and Farming.  His current roles are with Tauhara North No2 Trust, Lake Rotoaira Forest Trust, Ngati Porou Holdings and the Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board.

University of Otago

  • Suzanne ELLISON MNZM (Kāi Tahu, Kāti Mamoe and Te Atiawa) is an iwi manager and researcher for arts and cultural heritage projects. She is Runaka Manager for Kāti Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki, chairs the Ngāi Tahu Funds Committee, and her governance experience includes Toi Aotearoa the Arts Council of New Zealand. She was a senior manager with Ngāi Tahu Development Corporation for more than 10 years and received her MNZM for services to Māori, the arts and governance.