Takeovers Panel appointments

  • Craig Foss

Commerce Minister Craig Foss today announced appointments to the Takeovers Panel.  

David Jones has been reappointed as Chairperson for a term of three years.  Sue Suckling has been reappointed as member for a term of five years. 

Peter Scott, who is a cross appointment with the Australian Takeovers Panel, has been reappointed for one year and five months and current member Andy Coupe has been appointed as Deputy Chairperson for four years and six months.

“I am pleased that these current Panel members have accepted a further term and that Andy Coupe is to be the Deputy Chairperson,” says Mr Foss.

Mr Coupe will assume the Deputy Chair role from Colin Giffney on 1 October 2012. 

“The Panel’s work is highly regarded and its contribution to the regulatory environment for business is invaluable,” says Mr Foss.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Giffney for his contributions to the Takeovers Panel over the years.”


David Jones is founding partner of law firm Jones Young. He has been in legal practice for over 30 years.  He was appointed to the Takeovers Panel Advisory Committee in 1991 and has been a member of the Panel since its formation in 1995.

Andy Coupe is a senior advisor at investment bank UBS New Zealand Limited and was appointed as a member of the Panel in 2008.  He has over thirty years of investment banking experience, including advising on several of New Zealand’s major takeovers as well as numerous large capital markets transactions.

Sue Suckling has been a member of the Takeovers Panel since 2002. Aside from her membership on the Takeovers Panel, she is also Chairperson of the New Zealand Qualifications Authority, director of Restaurant Brands Ltd, director of SkyCity Entertainment Group Ltd and establishment Chair of the new Advanced Technology Institute.

Peter Scott has been a member of the Australian Takeovers Panel since 2002 and a member of the New Zealand Panel since 2008.  He is currently the Vice Chairman of UBS AG’s Investment Banking Division in Australia.