Stimulating A Culture Of Innovation New Directors

  • Maurice Williamson
Research, Science and Technology

"The Foundation for Research, Science and Technology has strengthened its ability to stimulate a culture of innovation with the appointment of four new Directors", said the Minister of Research, Science and Technology, Hon Maurice Williamson.

Mr Williamson announced the Governor General's appointment of Neil Richardson, Paula Rebstock, Professor Mason Durie and Dr Jim Watson to the Foundation. Mr Richardson replaces Sir Neil Waters as Presiding Member, and Professor Margaret Loutit has been confirmed as Deputy Presiding Member.

Mr Williamson said the new directors reflected the important role the Foundation must make towards the key strategic Government goal of a strongly growing, internationally competitive economy that encourages innovation, new ideas and technologies.

"These people will make a strong impact on the ability of the Foundation to deliver effective science and technology to New Zealand", he said.

They also had a mix of commercial, community and public sector experience that would help to underpin the Foundation's implementation of the results of the Foresight Project.

Neil Richardson has been Chairman of the Board of AgResearch and a member of other science and technology based organisations; Paula Rebstock is a member of the Commerce Commission and has experience in management, governance, economic analysis and leadership; Mason Durie is the Head of Maori Studies at Massey University and brings extensive involvement in cultural organisations and community health; James Watson is an internationally-recognised researcher, and leads a biotechnology start up company, Genesis.

Mr Williamson also expressed his appreciation of the efforts of the outgoing members of the Foundation.