Standards Council reappointments

  • Craig Foss

Commerce Minister Craig Foss today announced the reappointment of John Lumsden as Chair of the Standards Council, and the reappointment of six members.

The reappointed members are Dr Sharon Kletchko, Fay Sowerby, Richard Gibbons, John Hannah, Vaughan Renner and Michael Wallmannsberger.

The Standards Council is a Crown entity responsible for the development and approval of New Zealand Standards. To strengthen New Zealand’s Standards infrastructure, the Government has recently decided it will be replaced with a new model comprising an independent Standards board and a Standards statutory officer within the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE).

“The reappointed members have overseen vast improvements in the operation of the Council. The broad professional experience of this line up will ensure the Council can continue to deliver through this period of change,” says Mr Foss.

Mr Foss also acknowledged the contributions of board member Tom Campbell, who ended his work with the Council recently.

All reappointments are for a term of two years, or until the Council is disestablished in line with the recent Government decision.

For more information visit