Scholarships recognise coaching importance

  • Trevor Mallard
Sport and Recreation

Sports Minister Trevor Mallard today announced 63 sports coaches will receive the annual Prime Minister’s Coach Scholarships in recognition of the value and importance of coaches to New Zealand’s sporting success.

The leading high performance scholarships have been awarded in two tiers. Three coaches, Dunedin-based Craig Palmer, (athletics), Auckland-based Brendon Downey, (triathlon) and Cambridge-based Brett Crowe (rowing) will each receive $50,000 and a further 60 coaches from around New Zealand will receive up to $10,000 for professional development.

“Good coaches are integral to our sporting success on the world stage – and that success is important to all New Zealanders,” Trevor Mallard said.

“The scholarships recognise our future national coaches and gives them an incentive and the financial support to get to the next level. The aim is to increase both their knowledge and the standard of our high performance coaching, and to improve the depth of coaches throughout sport.”

“Coaching is a skill. It’s enhanced by learning and improved by practice. We have a lot of talented coaches in New Zealand who are prepared to go the extra mile to improve themselves. These scholarships will help to make our good coaches great,” Trevor Mallard said.

The scholarships programme is being funded by the government agency SPARC (Sport and Recreation New Zealand). SPARC receives $5 million in taxpayer funding for Prime Minister's scholarships, of which $4 million is spent on the Prime Minister's sport scholarships and $1 million on the Prime Minster's Coach Scholarships.

The programme is in its second year. It is administered by the New Zealand Academy of Sport, the high performance division of SPARC (Sport and Recreation New Zealand), which supports athletes nationwide with sports medicine, sports science, career advice and other services.

Coaches had to present a detailed plan for the use of the scholarship money that was considered by a panel administered by the Academy’s senior advisor high performance coaching Don Tricker. Seventy-four coaches from 34 sports applied for scholarships for 2003.

Prime Minister’s Coach Professional Development Scholarships ($50,000)

Craig Palmer – Athletics (middle distance)
Sports Scientist at University of Otago, Dunedin; consultant to New Zealand Academy of Sport South Island; coach to NZ representative middle distance runners.
Craig will use his scholarship to spend time with elite international coaches, complete a level 2 coaching qualification through the Australian Track & Field Coaches Association, analyse and store footage from television archives on CD. He also hopes to develop a training diary database.

Brendon Downey - Triathlon
Sports Scientist, based at the Millennium Institute of Sport, Auckland
Brendon is one of Triathlon New Zealand’s leading coaches; he competes in triathlon and has an extensive practical and academic background within endurance sport.
Brendon will use his scholarship to travel to ITU World Cup events and the 2003 World Championships. He will view high performance programmes in Canada, Britain, France, Germany and Switzerland and spend time with international elite coaches.

Brett Crowe – Rowing
Based in Cambridge, Brett Crowe is the current men’s squad coach.
Brett will use his scholarship to work with Rowing New Zealand’s head coach Richard Tonks, complete a Coaching NZ level 3 course and spend time with rowing’s service providers in physiology, sport psychology and nutrition.

Prime Minister’s Coach Professional Development Scholarships (up to $10,000)

Athletics-Elena Vinogradova-Auckland
Athletics-Debbie Strange-Hamilton
Bowls-Stewart Buttar-Christchurch
Bowls-Joy Lynch-Wanganui
Cricket-Bruce Blair-Hamilton
Cricket-Mark O’Donnell-Auckland
Cricket-Sarah Helmore-Christchurch
Cycling-Lynn Murphy-Auckland
Equestrian-Greg Best-Hastings
Hockey-Anthony Thornton-Auckland
Netball-Ruth Aitken-Paeroa
Paralympics-Jim Tunnicliffe-Hamilton
Paralympics-Barry Hislop-Masterton
Rowing-Iain Wright-Hamilton
Rowing-Sarah-Kate Millar-Auckland
Rowing-Marion Howell-Hamilton
Rugby Union-Dennis Brown-Hamilton
Rugby Union-Sue Garden-Bachop-Wellington
Rugby Union-Leon Holden-Te Aroha
Rugby Union-Peter Russell-Wellington
Rugby Union-Peter Kemp-Palmerston North
Shooting-Tom Mulvey-Auckland
Softball-John Lowes-Wellington
Squash-Julie Hawkes-Auckland
Squash-Robbie Wyatt-Kati Kati
Squash-Scott Devoy-Auckland
Squash-Tanya Colyer-Auckland
Swimming-Kim Swanwick-Auckland
Swimming-Donna Douzaid-Auckland
Swimming-Glen Findlay-Christchurch
Triathlon-Tony O’Hagan-Auckland
Womens Golf-Steven Jessup-Taupo
Gymnastics-Alexandra Koudinova-Auckland
Gymnastics-Lee McDermott-Auckland
Gymnastics-Angie O’Brien -Auckland
Karate-Stella Lenihan-Wellington
Karate-Dennis May-Auckland
Roller Sports-Bill Begg-Auckland
Roller Sports-Ann Campbell-Christchurch
Snow Sports-Pamela Bell-Wellington
Surf Life Saving-John Bryant-Christchurch
Tennis-Marcel Vos-Mt Maunganui
Tennis-Andrew Rogers-Auckland
Tennis-Peter Blow-Auckland
Tennis-Glenn Wilson-Christchurch
Touch-John Whittaker-Tokora
AFL-James Lucy-Te Aroha
AFL-Greg Cairns-Auckland
AFL-Jason Lanyon-Christchurch
AFL-Steve Fairweather-Auckland
Diving-Steven Zhu-Auckland
Ice Hockey-Darryn Ward-Christchurch
Ice Hockey-Dave Le Comte-Christchurch
Orienteering-Wayne Asplin-Waiuku
Synchro Swimming-Nicole Esplin-Dunedin
Table Tennis-Helen Codlin-Napier
Water Ski-Kyle Eade-Auckland
Water Ski-William Coughey-Rotorua
Weightlifting-Terrence Hughes-Christchurch
Wrestling-Iain Adamson-Auckland