Scholarships awarded in honor of Ngārimu VC and the 28th Māori Battalion

  • Hon Kelvin Davis
  • Hon Peeni Henare
Education Youth

Nine Māori scholars have been awarded the Ngārimu VC and the 28th (Māori) Battalion tertiary scholarship in recognition of their outstanding achievements, Associate Minister of Education and Ngārimu Board Chair, Kelvin Davis, and the Minister for Youth, Peeni Henare, announced today.

The undergraduate, Masters, and Doctoral scholarships commemorate Victoria Cross winner Second Lieutenant Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa Ngārimu and members of the 28th (Māori) Battalion, who served on the battlefields of Greece, Crete, North Africa, and Italy between 1941 and 1945.

"The nine scholarship winners are our Māori leaders of tomorrow,” Peeni Henare said.

“They show not only excellence in education but determination, leadership, and commitment to their communities.

“Like the men of the 28th (Māori) Battalion they are outstanding role models to other young Māori of what can be achieved through belief, commitment and sheer hard work.

The prestigious Manakura Award was also presented for the first time since 2014. It is awarded to those who display characteristics of the 28th (Māori) Battalion, in particular, strength of character, ambition, courage and original thought.

“This year’s recipient is Te Hemanawa Temara (Hema). The award is in recognition of Hema’s lifetime commitment and leadership to Māori,” Kelvin Davis said.  

“Hema is a well-respected elder of Ngāi Tūhoe, and her commitment is demonstrated in her dedication to her whānau, hapū and iwi, as well as public contributions in the repatriation of Māori ancestral remains to Aotearoa.

Since 1948, the Ngārimu scholarships have supported Māori achievers to succeed in education and to contribute as leaders in New Zealand and overseas.

Doctoral scholarships were awarded to Jamie-Lee Rahiri (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Whātua ki Kaipara, Te Atihaunui-ā-Pāpārangi) who is studying Bariatric Surgery; and Pauline Adams (Te Whānau-ā-Apanui), who is studying Education, both at the University of Auckland.

Masters scholarships were awarded to Te Puoho Katene (Ngāti Toarangatira, Ngāti Tama, Ngāti Whātua), who is studying Business Management at Stanford University, California; Kimiora Kaire-Melbourne (Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāpuhi) and Te Aorere Pēwhairangi (Ngāti Porou), who are studying Māori/indigenous media at Waikato University.

The three undergraduate scholarship winners are Ngāpera Keegan (Waikato, Maniapoto) who is studying Bachelor of Science at Waikato University; Mairarangi Haimona (Waikato, Te Arawa), who is studying Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery at the University of Otago; and Johannah Burge (Ngāti Toarangatira, Ngāti Tama, Te Ātiawa, Ngāti Raukawa, Taranaki, Tūwharetoa, Tūhoe, Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Māui) who is studying Bachelor of Management Studies at Waikato University.

More information on the scholarship and previous winners is available at:


Contact: Patisepa Helu 021 821 562