Review of major projects completed

  • Paul Swain

The Transport Minister Paul Swain says the Transfund review of major projects has confirmed that six projects remain in the National Land Transport Programme for 2003/04.

The six projects are the Mangatawhiri Deviation in the Waikato; Hewletts Road Flyover in Tauranga; Wellington's Inner City Bypass; the extension to State Highway 20 in Mt Roskill, Auckland; the North Shore Busway, Auckland; and Esmonde Rd, Auckland.

On some of the projects, conditions have to be met before they can be considered for funding.

The review was signalled in the Speech from the Throne in 2002, and details announced">Land Transport Management Act and the New Zealand Transport Strategy.

The review resulted in Transfund">Transit for more information on five of the six projects.

Mr Swain says Transit will now respond to the findings of the Transfund review, with the next step being the Transit Board meeting in February.

"It would be inappropriate for me to comment on the detail of individual projects," says Mr Swain.