Reappointments To Nz Film Commission Announced

  • Marie Hasler
Cultural Affairs

The Minister of Cultural Affairs, Hon Marie Hasler today announced the reappointments of Mr Alan Sorrell as Chair and Mr Hirini Melbourne as a member of the New Zealand Film Commission.

"I am delighted both have agreed to a further three-year term of office on the commission," Ms Hasler said.

"Mr Sorrell has been an extremely effective and well regarded Chair for the last three years and I am confident the commission will continue to benefit from the considerable skills and experience he brings to this position.

"Mr Melbourne has been on the commission for only a short period, but has already made a valuable contribution to its work, and I am sure he will continue to do so over the next three years."

Mr Sorrell has been a member of the commission since 1993 and was appointed chair in 1996. Mr Melbourne joined in August last year to fill an extraordinary vacancy. Both terms of office will expire on 31 March 2002.