Raising achievement for more Māori learners

  • Anne Tolley
  • Pita Sharples

Thousands more young Māori learners at 17 additional schools will benefit from the Te Kotahitanga secondary schools programme next year, Education Minister Anne Tolley and Associate Education Minister Dr Pita Sharples have announced.

"Funding of almost $20 million over four years will allow the number of schools taking part in Te Kotahitanga to expand from 33 to 50 schools across New Zealand in 2010," said Mrs Tolley.

"In Budget 2009, the Government committed to extend Te Kotahitanga to 15 new schools. Today's announcement takes that commitment to raising Maori learners' achievement even further.

"This means that, in addition to the 13,000 Māori students currently benefiting from Te Kotahitanga, almost 7,000 more Māori students and 900 more teachers will be involved in the programme."

Te Kotahitanga has been proven to lift student achievement by working with teachers and schools to create culturally responsive learning environments, to improve teaching and learning practices and to improve relationships between teachers and learners.

The new schools entering Te Kotahitanga are:

Kaitaia College

Kamo High School

Tikipunga High School

Fairfield College

Forest View High School

Tongariro School

Rotorua Boys' High School

Rotorua Lakes High School


Flaxmere College

Hastings Boys' High School

Napier Boys' High School

William Colenso College

Gisborne Boys' High School

Gisborne Girls' High School

Lytton High School

Wairoa College

In addition, work has begun on a new professional learning and school based development programme, He Kākano, for up to 100 area and secondary school leaders, to begin next year. 

"He Kākano is focused on culturally responsive leadership that results in Māori learners' presence, engagement, learning and achievement success," said Associate Minister Dr Pita Sharples.

"The programme will strengthen knowledge, capability, and capacity across the secondary school sector, so participants can lead the change that will enable Māori learners to enjoy educational success as Māori."