PM welcomes appointments to board of TNZ

  • John Key
Tourism Prime Minister

Prime Minister and Tourism Minister John Key has today announced two new appointments and two reappointments to the board of Tourism New Zealand (TNZ).

“I would like to thank the departing members, Glenys Coughlan and Paul Richardson, who have served TNZ well during their term.

“I would also like to welcome Jenn Bestwick and John Thorburn whose appointments became official yesterday.

“Jenn brings a very strategic approach and in-depth knowledge of Māori culture to the position. She has great connections in both the education and tourism sector,” says Mr Key.

Ms Bestwick currently also holds the role of Chair of CPIT and is on the board of NZQA and Southern Response Earthquake Services.

“John Thorburn also has strong Māori links through his role as CEO of Ngāi Tahu Tourism and we welcome his experience.”

Mr Thorburn is also a member of the Tourism Industry Association, a Trustee of the Tourism Industry Trust and a Member of the New Zealand Conservation Authority.

Reappointed for a second term are Henry van Asch and Jennie Langley.

“I would like to thank both the incoming and outgoing members for their commitment to TNZ, which ensures we are effectively marketed as a visitor destination to maximise long-term benefits to New Zealand,” says Mr Key.

Ms Bestwick and Mr Thorburn have been appointed for three years, effective 6 August, and Mr van Asch and Ms Langley are reappointed until April 2014.