PM Announces Apec 99 Art And Culture Advisory Group

  • Jenny Shipley
Prime Minister

"APEC 99 is an exciting opportunity to showcase our art and culture to the world," Prime Minister Jenny Shipley said today on announcing a special art and cultural advisory group.

The APEC 99 Art and Culture Advisory Group will give the Government advice on key parts of next year's series of APEC meetings, including gifts.

"The five members of the Advisory Group bring a wealth of experience and expertise to this important task. It is a tribute to their passion for our arts and culture that they are willing to give so freely of their time and energy," said Mrs Shipley.

Among the gifts to be considered by the Advisory Group will be the Leaders' official outfits.

"This is an APEC tradition which will be viewed by millions of people around the world via the international media who will be covering the APEC 99 summit in Auckland. It is important, therefore, that a lot of effort goes into this.

"To help with this, the Government has established a set of criteria, a budget and a process for those interested in providing gifts or the Leaders' outfits. These details can be obtained by writing to the Art and Culture Advisory Group.

"It is traditional at APEC meetings that gifts are given to Leaders, Ministers and spouses. I am keen for our creative and talented artists to have the opportunity to be part of this tradition," said Mrs Shipley.

Criteria for gifts and the Leaders' outfits can be obtained by writing to the APEC 99 Art and Culture Advisory Group, c/o APEC Taskforce, PO Box 6995, Auckland. The deadline for registering expressions of interest for the gifts is 31 January 1999.

The Advisory Group will also play a key role in organising art work to be displayed in APEC 99 venues.

"Art and culture adds value to the impression that visitors get of a country. Our art and cultural heritage provides a strong reflection of what we have to offer the world and New Zealand has a lot to flaunt," Mrs Shipley concluded.


Jenny Gibbs (Chair) - Chair of the Patrons of the Auckland Art Gallery, Member of the Board of the Museum of New Zealand and a Member of the International Council of Modern Art, New York.

Sandy Adsett - Principal Tutor of Toihoukura Visual Arts Maori, Tairawhiti Polytechnic Gisborne, Chairperson of Te Atinga, Contemporary Visual Arts Maori Committee Toi Maori Aotearoa/Maori Arts New Zealand.

Erenora Puketapu Hetet - Past member of the Queen Elizabeth Arts Council of New Zealand, former Maori Protocol Officer/Advisor for the National Museum and a Maori weaver of traditional and contemporary techniques and materials.

Anne Rush - An artist, the Project Manager of the recent New Zealand Symposium on Cultural Tourism and a founding member of the Nelson Bays Arts Marketing Network.

Brian Stevenson - Chair of the Arts Council at Creative New Zealand, past President of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and a co-founder of financial planning firm Spicers Financial Services Ltd.