PM’s Education Excellence Awards - winners announced

The work of teachers and principals in our early childhood education services, and primary and secondary schools was celebrated tonight at the Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said.

The Acting Prime Minister Rt. Hon Winston Peters announced the winners at a ceremony held at Parliament this evening.

Winners of the 2018 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards



Excellence in Engaging

Toru Fetū Kindergarten, Porirua

Excellence in Leading

St Paul’s Collegiate School, Hamilton

Excellence in Teaching & Learning

Flaxmere College, Hastings

Excellence in Governing

Rotorua Girls’ High School, Rotorua

The 2018 Focus Prize

William Colenso College, Napier

Supreme Award Winner

Flaxmere College, Hastings

”There is a rigorous process in selecting the finalists and winners of these Awards, so every one of them should feel very proud to have reached this stage, Chris Hipkins said.

”These schools and early learning services have achieved great outcomes for their children and young people, setting them up for lifelong learning.

“It’s a good opportunity to celebrate their success and share their stories across the sector, so others can benefit from their experiences.

“We know that cultural competency is important if we want to raise Māori achievement. The Supreme Award winner, Flaxmere College focused on accelerating Māori student progress by working with their whānau and community.

“They used student and whānau voice to develop a curriculum that works for their tamariki and rangatahi, and implemented deliberate leadership strategies to make a difference, including hiring Māori and Pasifika support staff to connect with students,” Chris Hipkins said.

Each finalist has been awarded $3,000, the winners in each category $20,000, and the supreme winner an additional $30,000.

Notes to editors:

Information about the finalists -

Here’s more information about the judging panel is available here –

Other information about the Awards –