Pacific community celebrated in New Year’s Honours

  • Hon Aupito William Sio
Pacific Peoples

Minister for Pacific Peoples Aupito William Sio has welcomed the Pacific recipients named in the New Year’s Honours.

“The recipients have made an outstanding contribution within the Pacific community and I know that the Pacific community will celebrate in their success,” Mr Sio says.  

Among those recognised for their contribution throughout the years, is Tuifa’asisina Bryan George Williams (CNZM, MBE), who has been appointed a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for services to rugby.

“Sir Bryan, whose father was Samoan and his mother a Rarotongan, of Samoan descent, has been involved in rugby in New Zealand and Samoa since the 1960s.  Sir Bryan was educated at Mount Albert Grammar School (MAGS), where he started his rugby career and he became an All Black in 1970 until 1978.

“Sir Bryan was an idol for many Samoan rugby fans, including myself during the 1970s and I know the Pacific community will be delighted with his Royal Honour.

“I also want to acknowledge Ms Sharon Wilson-Davis of Strive Community Trust for her valuable contribution to the South Auckland Pacific community.

“I would like to congratulate all the Pacific recipients, who I know will serve as an inspiration to the Pacific community,” Mr Sio says.   


The recipients are:


  • Mr Tuifa'asisina Bryan George Williams, CNZM, MBE, for services to rugby


  • Ms Sharon Wilson-Davis, for services to the community


  • Dr Palatasa Havea, for services to the Pacific community and the dairy industry
  • Dr Suitafa Deborah Ryan Nicholson, for services to the Pacific community and health
  • Professor Kabini Fa'ari Sanga, for services to education and the Pacific community
  • Ms Petrina Marie Togi-Sa'ena, for services to Pacific music


  • Mrs Valeti Finau, for services to education and the Pacific community
  • Mr Charles Enoka Kiata, for services to the Pacific community
  • Mrs Sereana Comeke Phillipps, for services to the Fijian community


  • Mrs Foumana Alene-Tumataiki, for services to the Niue community and education
  • Mr Filipo Lui, for services to the Tokelauan community
  • Mrs Mii Hinarere Tupangaia, JP, for services to the Cook Islands community