NZ election observers head to Solomon Islands

  • Murray McCully
Foreign Affairs

New Zealand is contributing nine members of an international mission to observe the upcoming Solomon Islands election, Foreign Minister Murray McCully announced today.

"The election on 4 August underlined the progress being made in rebuilding a peaceful and democratic Solomon Islands, and New Zealand is pleased to help support free and fair polling," Mr McCully said.

New Zealand's team will be led by former Deputy Prime Minister Wyatt Creech, and includes current MPs Kanwal Bakshi, Rahui Katene, David Shearer, Phil Twyford, and Nicky Wagner, former MP Brent Catchpole, and officials from government agencies.

The international team, which was invited by the Solomon Islands Government and is being coordinated by the United Nations, also comprises observers from Australia, the United States, Japan, the Pacific Islands Forum, and the Commonwealth.

Funding for the New Zealand team, and a contribution towards the coordination of the international mission, is being provided through the Government's international aid programme.