NZ On Air Board Appointments

  • Maurice Williamson

The Minister of Communications, the Hon Maurice Williamson, today announced the appointment of Louise Rosson and Hekia Parata as members of the Board of NZ On Air and Roger Horrocks as Deputy Chair.

The appointments fill vacancies arising from the resignation of former Deputy Chair, Juliet McKee and Member Barbara Stewart, to focus on other commitments.

NZ On Air is responsible for collecting and disbursing the Public Broadcasting Fee, for the purpose of funding a range of public broadcasting services.

Ms Rosson is currently Chair of the Otago Regional Council, Vice President of Local Government New Zealand and a Director of Healthcare Otago Ltd. She has previously been a Dunedin City Councillor, a Member of the NZ Lottery Board Community Facilities Committee and the Historic Places Trust Board.

Ms Parata is a partner in Gardiner and Parata, a firm of business consultants. She was formerly employed as General Manager, Policy in Te Puni Kokiri and has served as a Board Member of Te Mangai Paho, the Maori broadcasting funding agency.

Dr Horrocks has been a Member of the NZ On Air Board since its establishment in 1989. He is an Associate Professor at Auckland University and Director of the Centre for Film, TV and Media Studies.

"Ms Rosson and Ms Parata have a very wide range of business management and public policy experience, which will enhance the existing skills of NZ On Air's Board" said the Minister. "Dr Horrocks is a long-standing member of the Board, who brings to the position of Deputy Chair a wealth of knowledge about the broadcasting industry and the work of NZ On Air".

Mr Williamson also commended the contribution made to NZ On Air by former members, Ms McKee and Ms Stewart.

Hekia Parata and Louise Rosson will take up their appointments on 1 January for a period of three years. Dr Horrocks has been appointed Deputy Chair until 30 September 1999, when his current appointment as a Board member expires.