NY Honours recognise service to education

  • Hekia Parata
  • Steven Joyce
Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment Education

Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment Minister Steven Joyce and Education Minister Hekia Parata have congratulated the twelve New Zealanders who are recipients of New Year’s Honours for their services to education.

“I’d like to congratulate the 2016 recipients for the valuable contribution they’ve made to education in New Zealand and internationally,” Mr Joyce says. “It’s great to see some of the best being honoured for their services.”

“The tireless work of these honourees across early childhood education through to senior secondary and tertiary has helped ensure that New Zealand has a world-class education system. It’s wonderful that they’ve been publicly recognised,” Ms Parata says.

“These twelve people are fine examples of the passionate and dedicated people working in education to make a real and positive difference for young New Zealanders,” says Mr Joyce.

This year’s recipients for services to education are:


  • Professor Max Wenden Abbott, for services to health, science and education
  • Penelope Elsie Simmonds, for services to education, sport and the community


  • Professor Mere Anne Berryman, for services to Māori and education
  • Emeritus Professor Alan Russell Bishop, for services to Māori and education
  • Professor Helen May, for services to education


  • Janet Elspeth Adams, for services to education
  • Norman Donald Campbell, for services to tertiary education
  • Larry Raynor Ching, for services to education
  • Graeme Herbert Daniel, for services to special education
  • Carolyn Gay Solomon, for services to education
  • John Stuart Taylor, for services to education


  • Billie Nelson Walter Hector Chote, for services to education