Ngārimu Scholarship winners announced

  • Hekia Parata

Education Minister Hekia Parata has today announced the five outstanding winners of the Ngārimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship was established in 1948 in honour of the 28th Māori Battalion and supports future Māori leaders to be successful in education.

Ms Parata, who is Chair of the Scholarship Fund Board, says that this year’s winners share the same qualities that earned the battalion an honoured place in New Zealand history.

“Each of the five winners exemplify leadership, determination and sacrifice, just as the brave men of the 28th Māori Battalion did. I’m confident they will honour the soldiers by making their own contribution to their whānau, hapū, iwi and country,” says Ms Parata.

Diane Koti, this year’s doctoral recipient, is studying to become a clinician and aspires to establish a kaupapa Māori end-of-life care facility.

This year’s masters recipient, Kingi Snelgar, is one of just three New Zealanders admitted to Harvard Law School and aims to become a Supreme Court Justice.

The three undergraduate recipients are:

  • Herewini Ammunson, who is studying law and commerce
  • Samantha Jackson, who is studying medicine
  • Hariata Rongo Dalton Reedy, who is studying Māori visual arts

“Of the 114 applications we received this year, these five outstanding winners stood out. They show other young Māori what can be achieved through belief, commitment and hard work,” says Ms Parata.

The winners will be recognised at a ceremony this evening. Applications for the 2016/17 round will open on 2 May 2016 and close in September.