New Tertiary Education Commission Board announced

  • Hon Chris Hipkins

Education Minister Chris Hipkins today announced the appointment of Māori education specialist Dr Wayne Ngata and Business NZ head Kirk Hope to the Board of the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC).

Dr Alastair MacCormick has been reappointed for another term.

“Wayne Ngata, Kirk Hope and Alastair MacCormick bring a great deal of leadership and governance experience as well as a wealth of understanding of the tertiary education sector,” Chris Hipkins said.

“I would like to thank retiring members Phil O’Reilly, Chris Mace and Vanessa Stoddart for the spirit of service that they have given to the priorities for tertiary education during their tenure.

“Highlights of their time on the Board include the development of the Careers System Strategy in the TEC which took substantial time and energy. The TEC is now better prepared to help young people to continue learning throughout their lives,” Chris Hipkins said.


Following these appointments and reappointments, the TEC Board will comprise:

  • Nigel Gould
  • Alastair MacCormick
  • Jenn Bestwick
  • John Russell
  • Kirk Hope
  • Nancy McConnell
  • Vivien Bridgewater
  • Wayne Ngata

Brief Biographies

Dr Wayne Ngata

Wayne has an intimate knowledge of the challenges Māori face in achieving equity and has exceptional understanding, qualifications and experience in Mātauranga Māori. He was previously Board Chair of Te Taura Whiri I te Reo Māori (the Māori Language Commission), has been the Head of Mātauranga Māori at Te Papa Tongarewa, the Raukura / Chief Advisor Te Ao Māori at the Ministry of Education and the Principal Investigator with Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga (New Zealand’s Māori Centre for Research Excellence at the University of Auckland). He brings with him a high level of mana and will be a strong advocate for Māori learners.

Kirk Hope

Kirk is a qualified barrister and solicitor with extensive corporate management experience.  He is currently Chief Executive of Business NZ. Kirk has had numerous government appointed roles where he has represented the views of businesses. Kirk has an extensive background in financial management and his ability to bring a depth of business and industry networks to the TEC Board will be a strong contribution.

Alastair MacCormick

Alastair has served on the TEC Board since May 2017. He was previously Dean of the University of Auckland Business School for 14 years, subsequently becoming Deputy Vice-Chancellor. Since leaving the University, Alastair has been a professional director for a diverse range of public and private companies, including new venture companies with a technology focus.  He is also Chair of many educational and charitable institutions and trusts, and is a former Chair of the New Zealand Education and Scholarship Trust and the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust.

About the TEC

The Tertiary Education Commission leads the Government’s relationship with the tertiary education sector (including universities, institutes of technology and polytechnics, wānanga, private training establishments, industry training organisations and other providers of post-secondary education and training) and provides careers services from education through to employment.

The TEC plays an important role in the education system and in the implementation of the Government’s Education Work Programme.