New Public Advisory Committee on Disarmament and Arms Control

  • Rt Hon Winston Peters
Deputy Prime Minister Disarmament and Arms Control Foreign Affairs

Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control Winston Peters has announced the members of the Public Advisory Committee on Disarmament and Arms Control (PACDAC).

“We have reappointed two members to the Committee and made six new appointments,” said Mr Peters.

"The two reappointments are former Minister of Defence Hon Wayne Mapp and Auckland University disarmament law specialist Treasa Dunworth.

“The new appointees are former Green Party MP and disarmament expert Kennedy Graham; NGO disarmament campaigner Edwina Hughes; expert in small arms proliferation Damien Rogers; international law specialist Guy Fiti Sinclair; Pacific disarmament activist and researcher Ema Tagicakibau; and Canterbury University international relations professor Alex Tan.

“Parliamentary Undersecretary for Disarmament and Arms Control Fletcher Tabuteau will continue to serve as Chair of the Committee.

“The Committee brings together wide-ranging expertise in disarmament. We welcome the new members and look forward to their advice and contribution.

“I take this opportunity to thank outgoing members of the Committee for their contribution: Natasha Barnes, Ross Miller, Sarah Paterson, Kevin Riordan, Paul Sinclair and Angela Woodward,” said Mr Peters.

The Committee is holding its first meeting this week.