New Ministerial Advisory Council For Pacific Island Affairs

  • John Delamare
Pacific Island Affairs

The new Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs Minister's Advisory Council has been restructured to better reflect the relative
composition of the Pacific population in New Zealand, the Minister of Pacific Island Affairs Hon Tuariki Delamere
announced today.

The new structure will ensure that issues affecting specific groups are canvassed effectively at Council level, said Mr

In the past each of the six main Pacific groups (Samoa, Cook Islands, Tonga, Niue, Fiji, Tokelau) had two members and
Tuvalu and the Solomons had one member each.

The new structure has the following distribution: Samoa (5), Cook Islands (2), Tonga (2) and one each for Fiji, Niue,
Tokelau and Solomons.

The Council now has greater regional representation and better reflects the cultural diversity of Pacific people in New
Zealand, said Mr Delamere.

Two current members and seven new members have been appointed:

Mr Tim Vailoeti (Tonga) Waikato University lecturer, Rotorua

Mr Mailo Pesamino (Samoa) Social worker, Wellington

New members:

Mr Enosa Auvaa (Samoa) Principal, Mt Albert School, Auckland
Mr Eleitino Bubsy
Memea-Maaelopa (Samoa) Social service worker, interpreter and Pacific health educator, Christchurch
Mrs Leitulagi Sagapolutele (Samoa) Social services worker, Auckland
Mr Edwin Puni (Samoa) Consultant, Auckland
Ms Tairi Fenwick (Cook Is) Associate Principal, Auckland
Mrs Taime Samuel (Cook Is) Community worker, Hastings
Mr Siale Pasa (Tonga) Civil engineering tutor Canterburyv University, Christchurch
Mr Sekove Mataitonga (Fiji) Community leader and National Library custodian, Wellington
Mr Antonio Patelesio (Tokelau) Senior Human Resource advisor, Wellington

I am confident that the new Council will continue to provide me with the best advice on issues affecting Pacific people in
New Zealand, said Mr Delamere.

Two further positions have yet to be confirmed.

The term of appointment will be for one year and with the Minister?s discretion renewable for a further two years.