New members for Cadastral Board

  • Louise Upston
Land Information

Appointments to the Cadastral Surveyor Licensing Board, New Zealand’s authority for setting competency standards for land title surveyors, will see its membership refreshed, including a new Chair, Land Information Minister Louise Upston said.

“It’s great to see that the Board has elected a woman as Chair for the first time. Vicky Nalder, an experienced surveyor and member of the Board for six years has been promoted to the position,” Ms Upston says.

“This is a positive change for what has traditionally been a predominantly male profession.

The Board also welcomes three new members Belinda Greer, Adina Thorn and Craig McInnes will start work with the Board on 1 December 2016.

“Ms Greer has been a senior legal advisor in the Office of the Health and Disability Commissioner and earlier worked as a legal standards officer for the New Zealand Law Society.

“Ms Thorn also has a legal background and is a member of the Auckland District Law Society’s property disputes committee.

“Mr McInnes is a cadastral surveyor with 23 years’ experience and has particular expertise in Crown land, rural surveys and Christchurch post-earthquake surveys,” Ms Upston says.

Existing members Tony Nikkel, Merryn Maguire, and Neale Faulkner have been re-appointed to the Board. The new appointees replace outgoing members Katherine Price, Marion Millar and Brett Gawn.

“Brett Gawn, served on the Board for 17 years. I wish him, Ms Price and Ms Millar all the best for the future, and thank them for their work”.