• Christine Fletcher
Cultural Affairs

Cultural Affairs Minister, Hon Chris Fletcher, today announced a number of new appointments to the Council of Creative New Zealand and its member boards, Te Waka Toi and the Arts Board.

The Council of Creative New Zealand has three new members - Dr Marilyn Waring, Andrew Caisley and Dr Michael Volkerling. New appointments for the Arts Board are Gray Bartlett, John Daly-Peoples and Dr Takiora Ingram as Pacific Islands representative. Te Waka Toi's new appointments are Elizabeth Ellis as Chair and new member Gwen Neave.

"Elizabeth Ellis has already served with distinction as a member of Te Waka Toi for the past three years and has been a member of the Council of Creative New Zealand. Her background and experience in Maori arts will be valuable in building on the work already undertaken by Te Waka Toi and in setting its future direction", Chris Fletcher said.

Chris Fletcher paid special tribute to the work of Ngapo Wehi for his three years as Chair of Te Waka Toi. "Ngapo's dedication and hard work in establishing Te Waka Toi in its first years has been immense and I am delighted he has agreed to work with me in developing programmes for young Maori youth", she said.

"I would like to thank the retiring members Lewis Moeau, Sandi Morrison, Sefita Haouli and Ray Sleeman for the work and effort they have all put into Creative New Zealand and New Zealand arts and culture. Their contribution to the achievements of Creative New Zealand during its establishment phase is greatly appreciated and I wish them well", Chris Fletcher said.

Creative New Zealand consists of an Arts Council and two boards, the Arts Board and Te Waka Toi. The Council and boards are each composed of seven members.

The Arts Council sets policy and strategic direction, and has a major role to play in promoting and advocating for the arts. The Arts Board and Te Waka Toi develop art-form policy, allocate grants and carry out initiatives that support the Council's strategic direction. Te Waka Toi specifically supports and promotes Maori arts. Members of the Council and Boards are appointed by the Minister of Cultural Affairs for a term of up to three years.

Creative New Zealand receives funding directly from the Government through Vote: Cultural Affairs and from the New Zealand lottery Grants Board. The Council of Creative New Zealand is accountable to the Minister of Cultural Affairs and produces an annual report that is tabled before Parliament.



Background Information on New Appointees
Council of Creative New Zealand
Dr Marilyn Waring, of Kaukapakapa, is a Senior Lecturer in Social Policy & Social Work at the Albany Campus of Massey University, and is a member of the Massey University Council. She has had an extensive and distinguished academic career, both in New Zealand and the United States and has undertaken numerous international consultancies, particularly dealing with women.,s issues. Dr Waring was a Member of Parliament between 1975 and 1984. She has a strong personal interest in the arts and is a collector of New Zealand visual and decorative artworks.

Dr Michael Volkerling, of Wellington, is a former Director of the former Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council of New Zealand. He was also Executive Director of the National Art Gallery, Museum and War Memorial and Acting Chief Executive of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. He is currently a Senior Lecturer in Recreation and Leisure Studies at Victoria University of Wellington. Dr Volkerling has a strong background in arts policy and has worked in senior positions in the cultural sector over many years and will provide valuable input into the development of the policy direction and strategic planning of the Council.

Andrew Caisley lives in Auckland and is practising law in the firm of Kylie, Thompson and Caisley. He is closely involved in the arts on Auckland.,s North Shore. He is a member and former Chair of the Northbridge Community Arts Council and is the founding Chair of the Shore Arts Forum Inc. He has also been active as the community representative on the North Shore City Council Theatre Project Committee.

Arts Board
Gray Bartlett M.B.E. of Auckland, is a well known country music entertainer and is patron of the New Zealand Country Music Association. He is an Auckland City Councillor, and is the Chair of the Auckland East Community Arts Council and the Auckland City Art Gallery Enterprise Board. He has been a company director in music and entertainment businesses for several years. Mr Bartlett was nominated as International Man of the Year for 1992/93.

John Daly-Peoples lives in Auckland and is currently the Manager of the Pakuranga Community Arts Centre. He has had an extensive involvement in the arts over many years including directing and acting in theatre and music; curating exhibitions; scriptwriting; media productions; and arts reviews and articles.

Dr Takiora Ingram, of Wellington, has a strong tourism background, particularly in indigenous tourism development. She has held senior positions in the Cook Islands public service and currently is Manager of the Tourism Portfolio at Te Puni Kokiri. She is closely involved in Cook Islands community activities, and has been Treasurer of the Cook Islands Voyaging Society and Founding President of the Cook Islands Business and Professional Women.,s Organisation.

Te Waka Toi
Elizabeth Aroha Mountain Ellis has served with distinction as a member of Te Waka Toi for the past three years and has also been a member of the Council of Creative New Zealand. Ms Ellis has a background in arts education and currently works for the Education Review Office in Auckland. She has extensive experience in Maori arts and has been curator of several exhibitions of Maori art.

Gwen Neave, (Ngati Kahungunu) of Half Moon Bay, Stewart Island, is involved in a range of local community arts. She is Chair of the Southland Community Trust Arts Committee and a member of the Trust Bank Southland Arts Foundations. Gwen Neave was a member of the Southern Regional Arts Council of the former Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council from 1988-1993.