New chair from New Zealand On Air

  • Hon Clare Curran
Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media

Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Minister Clare Curran has announced the appointment of Dr Ruth Harley CNZM as a member and new chair of the Broadcasting Commission (NZ On Air).

“Dr Harley brings an incredible depth of industry knowledge and experience to this position. She was the executive director of NZ On Air from 1989 to 1995 and was also the chief executive officer of the NZ Film Commission from 1997 to 2008,” Clare Curran said.

“As a senior leader for some 25 years in both the public and private sectors in New Zealand and Australia, Ruth Harley has developed expertise in a number of areas including the arts, film and television, leadership, advertising and property and public space development..

“Coupled with this, she is a NZ Government Performance Improvement Framework (PIF) reviewer and has more recently been involved in consultancy and executive coaching.

“Her strong governance skills are evident in roles including Chair of the New Zealand Cricket Museum and Fulbright NZ and as a board member of the Len Lye Foundation, Wellington Sculpture Trust, Ausfilm, Film NZ and Wellington Waterfront Ltd.

With her appropriate mix of skills and experience I am confident Dr Harley’s appointment will continue the efficient and consistent governance of the NZ On Air Board.

Ruth Harley replaces Miriam Dean QC who is retiring after two terms as a member and chair of NZ On Air.

“Miriam Dean has made a valuable contribution during a time of rapid change in the sector, ensuring our stories and music are available to New Zealanders across numerous channels,” Clare Curran said.

Ruth Harley’s appointment is until 30 April 2021. She joins other board members Helen Grattan, Stuart McLauchlan, John McCay, Ian Taylor and Kim Wicksteed.

The Cabinet paper on Dr Harley’s appointment is being proactively released and is attached.