New appointments to New Zealand Tourism Board

Tourism Minister Kelvin Davis today announced the appointment of Colleen Neville and Kauahi Ngapora as members of the New Zealand Tourism Board (known as Tourism New Zealand).

“These appointments will add tremendous value to the board as it works to increase the benefits to New Zealand from domestic and international tourism,” Kelvin Davis said.

“For these appointments I was looking for people with commercial tourism experience, particularly in the regions, a connection to Māori tourism operators, and strong financial acumen.

“I have also reappointed John Thorburn, Jamie Tuuta, and Jan Hunt for various terms, while chair Kerry Prendergast’s term has been extended to March 2019 to retain her experience and leadership while future changes are considered.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing members Richard Leggat, Christopher Parkin and Raewyn Idoine for their commitment, service and contributions to the board,” Kelvin Davis said.

Notes to editors

  • Ms Neville is chief executive of Te Arawa Group Holdings, which invests in the tourism, forestry, geothermal and agri-business sectors. She has been on the boards of Poutama Trust, Te Ohu Kaimoana, the NZ Forest Research Institute (Scion), Te Kakano Whakatipu Ltd, and Te Arawa Agribusiness Ltd. Ms Neville has a strong background in finance and accounting and is based in Rotorua.
  • Mr Ngapora is general manager of Whale Watch Kaikoura Ltd and has 25 years of experience in the Māori tourism sector. His governance experience includes directorships at Tourism Industry Aotearoa and Whale Watch Australia. Mr Ngapora has also been chair of Destination Kaikoura and is a member of the Tourism Infrastructure Fund panel.
  • The New Zealand Tourism Board is a Crown entity, responsible for ensuring that New Zealand is effectively marketed as a visitor destination in order to maximise long-term benefits to New Zealand.