New appointment to FSANZ Board

  • Jo Goodhew
Food Safety

Jane Lancaster has been appointed to the Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) Board, Food Safety Minister Jo Goodhew announced today. Ms Lancaster’s term began on 1 July 2016.

“Ms Lancaster will make a valuable contribution to the FSANZ Board with her background in food science, biotechnology, and strong governance experience. In particular, she has professional experience in food safety, food regulation, and the food industry,” says Mrs Goodhew.

“Ms Lancaster replaces Neil Walker, whose second term on the FSANZ Board expires on 30 June 2016. Mr Walker’s extensive knowledge has been highly valued by both myself and the FSANZ Board over this time.”

The other New Zealand Board members are Tony Nowell and Dr Andrew McKenzie, and their terms will expire on 30 June 2017 and 30 June 2018 respectively. Dr McKenzie has extensive knowledge of the New Zealand food regulation system as he led the New Zealand Food Safety Authority from its inception in 2002 until 2010. Mr Nowell has extensive senior executive experience (including food) both internationally and within New Zealand.

FSANZ is the agency which administers joint trans-Tasman food standards. It is governed by a statutory Board of twelve members, including three New Zealand Board members.