More state houses for the regions by mid-year

Up to 155 new state houses will be built in 15 regional centres by the middle of this year, Housing and Urban Development Minister Phil Twyford announced today.

“This is the first step in building more new homes to help those most in need in our regions. In total, it will build more than 270 bedrooms for individuals or families in the areas where they are needed most.

“Housing NZ will build these modern, warm and dry homes on its vacant land and on its larger properties. They will mostly consist of one or two bedroom homes, with some larger homes.

“These homes will be low maintenance, fully insulated, and have carpets, curtains and double glazing.

“Work will begin on these houses this month and it’s expected that people will start moving in from mid-2018.

“This is the largest building initiative Housing NZ has undertaken outside the main centres in decades.

“If we want to reduce homelessness, we must build more state houses. If more state houses had been built in the past decade, we would not have the levels of homelessness we do today,” Phil Twyford says.

Background New state houses will be built the following regional centres:

  • Far North - 10
  • Rotorua - 8
  • Whakatane – 8
  • Napier/Hastings – 49
  • New Plymouth  – 6
  • Whanganui – 7
  • Palmerston North – 11
  • Nelson / Marlborough – 20
  • South Canterbury – 19
  • Dunedin – 14
  • Invercargill – 3

* As Housing NZ continues to move through the planning process, these numbers may change.