Maori Multiple-owned Land Development Committee

  • Tau Henare
Maori Affairs

The Minister of Maori Affairs, the Hon Tau Henare, today announced the members of a new committee, the Maori Multiple-owned Land Development Committee.

The Coalition Agreement promised to establish such a committee to look at issues relating to Maori land and multiple-ownership.

"This is part of the Government's commitment to provide an effective tenure and development system for Maori land owners," said Mr Henare.

The committee will provide independent advice to the Minister on a number of policy issues such as Maori land fragmentation, the identification of Maori land use options and financing Maori land development.

Its findings will also feed into the upcoming review of Te Ture Whenua Maori Act.

"The Government wishes to be informed in considering its approach to Maori land and this committee has been established to provide contestable advice on issues relating to Maori land," he said.

It is envisaged the committee will be active for four months and would meet on a fortnightly basis.



Inquiries to Reuben Wharawhara, Press Secretary: (04)471 9170 (work) or 025 477 984.


June McCabe:

June is currently the Chief Manager, Government Business for the Westpac Trust. She was until recently the Chief Executive Officer of the Home Mortgage Company and has held a number of directorships, and is currenly a director of Moana Pacific Fisheries Ltd. Her interests are squash, netball and touch rugby. June's iwi affiliations are: Ngapuhi Nui Tonu, Te Rarawa and Te Aupouri.

Campbell Dewes:

Campbell is currently the Manager of the Pohutu Station and the Head of Rural Studies for Te Whare Wananga O Ngati Porou. He has an extensive hands-on background in Maori land management.

Tina Ngatai:

Tina is currently the Registrar of the Maori Land Court, Taitokerau region. She has an extensive background in the public service dealing specifically with Maori land issues. Tina's iwi affiliations are Te Arawa and Ngati Porou.

John Kahukiwa:

John is currently a solicitor for the Auckland firm Corban Revell. He is actively involved in his father's land interests in Rotorua and through his practice specialises in Maori land law, having developed a significant Maori land law clientele. John's iwi affiliations are Ngati Whakaaue, Tuhoe, Te Aitanga A Mahaki and Rongowhakaata on his father's side, and Ngati Porou on his mother's side.

Robin Cooper:

Rob is currently the General Manager, Maori Health Development, Pacific Peoples Health, Northland subregion for North Health. He has an extensive history in the public service and is qualified as a professional land valuer. Rob's iwi affiliations are Ngapuhi, Ngait Hine and Ngati Whatua.

Hirini Clarke:

Hirini is the Chairman of Directors and Manager of Tairawhiti Pharmaceuticals Ltd and a Gisborne District Councillor. Hirini helped pioneer the Essential Oils industry on the East Coast from where Manuka and Kanukua oils are currently exported internationally. Hirini's iwi affiliations are Ngati Porou and Ngapuhi.