Māori Language Advisory Group to provide independent advice to the Minister

  • Te Ururoa Flavell
Maori Development

The Minister for Māori Development is pleased to announce the establishment of a Māori Language Advisory Group to provide independent and expert advice on the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill.

“I’m committed to ensuring we get this language legislation right,” says Minister Flavell.

“I wholeheartedly support the intention of the legislation which is to ensure iwi and Māori lead the revival of te reo Māori but I see the value in working through the practical implications of the bill and making sure it’s as workable as it can be.”

The initial members appointed to the Māori Language Advisory Group are Dr Wharehuia Milroy, Charisma Rangipunga, Dr Ruakere Hond, Dr Rawinia Higgins and Charlie Te Pana. The group will be holding its first meeting this month.

“I’m thrilled with the mix of language experience in this group.

“They represent key strands in te reo Māori revitalisation including understanding language law, language planning, an academic understanding of te reo and involvement with community language initiatives,” says Mr Flavell.

The group will provide direct advice to the Minister including any changes to policy intent and legislation. It will be supported by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori and Te Puni Kōkiri.

For a copy of the terms of reference for the Māori Language Advisory Group go online to  www.tpk.govt.nz/mi/a-matou-mohiotanga/

The Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill is currently with the Māori Affairs Select Committee and it will provide a report to the House by the end of March 2015.

“The independent Group will not affect the work of the Māori Affairs Select Committee. I look forward to also receiving their recommendations on the Bill,” says Mr Flavell.

The Māori Language Advisory Group will provide a final written report about its assessment of the Māori Language (Te Reo Māori) Bill to the Minister by 31 July 2015.

The bill is expected to be passed late next year.