Luxton Announces Ministerial Advisory Panel

  • John Luxton
Food, Fibre, Biosecurity and Border Control

Food, Fibre, Biosecurity and Border Control Minister John Luxton today announced members of the Ministerial Advisory Panel on Producer Boards.

The role of the Ministerial Advisory Panel is to provide advice to, and act as a sounding board for, the Minister for Food, Fibre, Biosecurity and Border Control on general agricultural and horticultural industry issues surrounding producer board evolution.

While members of the panel will not be involved in detailed assessment of reform plans, they may be asked for advice on specific issues appropriate to their expertise. In performing its role, the Panel is expected to draw upon its members ' knowledge of the agricultural industry sectors concerned.

Mr Luxton said today, "The industry planning process is an opportunity for the Boards to provide their growers, and the Government, with their strategic plans and visions for improving their growers and owners incomes.

"This process is an opportunity for fresh thinking to meet the challenges of the future and lift economic prospects for our rural people. The Ministerial Advisory Panel has impressive experience and will provide useful input as we carefully work through the industry plan process," Mr Luxton said

Members of the panel are:

Joe Pope was from 1984 to 1996 the Chief Executive Officer of the New Zealand Apple and Pear Marketing Board. He is currently the Chair of the New Zealand Trade Development Board, Hurricanes Rugby and Dow Group Ltd and a director of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Rabobank Australia Advisory Board, Waitotara Meat Company, New Zealand Way Ltd, Major Events New Zealand, Wellington Rugby Football Union, the Horticulture Research Institute of New Zealand and Lintz Estate Ltd.

Mr Pope was previously the Chief Executive Officer of Petrocorp, a manager of Feltex Distributors and Marketing Manager for Wilsons Distillers Ltd and has held a number of other positions.

Graham Calvert

Graham Calvert has had senior positions in agribusiness and agripolitics. He was former Chairman of Federated Farmers Dairy Section, is a former Director of the New Zealand Dairy Board, and a member of the Independent Review Committee to review West Coast Lessees, Former chairman of the Animal Remedies Board and Taylor Freezing Holdings. He is currently a Director of New Zealand Dairy Group and Counties Power Ltd.

John Palmer

John Palmer is a former Chairman of the New Zealand Kiwifruit Marketing Board and has had numerous directorship of New Zealand companies in the agricultural/banking sectors including Trustbank Canterbury, Trustbank New Zealand and Zespri International. John was the inaugural Chairman of Hort

Research Ltd, is Chairman of Wrightsons Ltd, a board member of AMP Bank Ltd, Cold Storage Nelson Ltd and a trustee of Nelson Millennium Centre Trust.

Sir Peter Elworthy has a long distinguished career as a Chair and director on various organisations including primary industry organisations, large national and international companies, and local and national community organisations. Sir Peter is a past President of Federated Farmers and is a past director of Huttons Kiwi Ltd, Skellerup Group Ltd, BP NZ Ltd and Landcorp. He is currently a director of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Chair of the independent directors. He is Chair of his family farming company situated just outside of Timaru, the Alan Duff Charitable Foundation, the Primary Industry Consultants Board and the Opihi River Development/Opuha Dam Co Ltd. He is currently a director of numerous companies including Sky City, Stanfield Oaks, Pacific Beef Ltd and the New Zealand Rural Property Trust.

Alan Haronga ACA

Alan Haronga is a former partner of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu involved in assisting a wide range of clients in a variety of industries to manage change for better economic and social outcomes. He was deputy Chair of the Horticulture and Food Crown Research Institute of NZ.

Alan maintains directorships in various organisations involved in change and/or intellectual property. He is the Chair of Mangatu Blocks Incorporation and Wi Pere Trust. Former Chair of Harvest Wine Company Ltd and Tourist Information FM Ltd. Director of Richmond Ltd, Quotable Value New Zealand Ltd, Aotearoa Financial Services Ltd and Rotorua Casino Ltd. Alternative Director on Tohu Wines Ltd and is currently a member of the Advertising Standards Authority Complaints Board.