Leaders to guide the future of education in NZ

A diverse group of knowledgeable and passionate New Zealanders will help guide the nationwide conversation on how to make our education system the best in the world, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today.

Mr Hipkins made the announcement in Christchurch at the first of two education summits involving more than 1000 Kiwis from all walks of life. The second summit takes place next weekend in Auckland.

The Group is led by Judge Andrew Becroft, the Children’s Commissioner, and has as its members: Sir Lockwood Smith, Marian Hobbs, Prof Rawinia Higgins, Dr Debbie Ryan, Dr Welby Ings, Etta Bollinger, and Deborah Walker.

“Every single one of this group is a leader in their own right and all are passionate advocates for great education,” Mr Hipkins said

“They will provide a high-level overview to connect the vision from the education summits and national conversation with the development and delivery of the Government’s strategic education work plan during 2018, which includes Tomorrow’s Schools and the NCEA Review.”

“The group is a key component in our approach to democratise the vitally important process of improving and modernising our education system to set it up for the next 30 years. 

“This strategy is a deliberate shift away from the piecemeal approach to change that has frustrated the sector and many parents and students in the past.  

“Too often there has been change for changes sake, or change that didn’t seem to have any clear destination in mind. And too often people have felt excluded from the process.

“The approach involves a lot of co-design, a lot of consultation, and a lot of collaboration. So far more than 6000 people have engaged in an online conversation, and more than 1000 New Zealanders will be contributing their views in our summits,” Mr Hipkins said.