Iwi members appointed to Whānau Ora group

  • Te Ururoa Flavell
  • Bill English
Whanau Ora Finance

Six iwi representatives have been appointed to the Whānau Ora Partnership Group Finance Minister Bill English and Minister for Whānau Ora Te Ururoa Flavell say.

“These iwi representatives are well-placed to contribute to the work of the group,” says Mr English.

The representatives, nominated by the Iwi Chairs Forum, are Raniera (Sonny) Tau, Naida Glavish, Rāhui Papa, Sir Mark Solomon, Dr Hope Tūpara, and Richard Steedman.

“We are delighted with the depth, wisdom, and iwi connections that these appointees bring,” says Mr Flavell.

The Whānau Ora Partnership Group is a forum of ministerial and iwi representatives. The group determines the Whanau Ora outcomes that Commissioning Agencies need to achieve and identifies opportunities that the Crown and iwi can contribute to, that support the aims and aspirations of whānau, hapū and iwi, in relation to Whānau Ora.

The Partnership Group consists of equal members of iwi leaders and ministers. The Minister for Whānau Ora Hon Te Ururoa Flavell will chair the group. He will be joined by five other ministers: Finance Minister Bill English, Education Minister Hekia Parata, Health Minister Jonathan Coleman, Social Development Minister Anne Tolley and Economic Development Minister Steven Joyce.

The group will develop strategies that ensure whānau and communities who can benefit from Whanau Ora, have that opportunity. It will hold its first meeting next month.

Background on Whānau Ora

Whānau Ora places whānau and families at the centre of service delivery, requiring the integration of services like health, education and social services.

Since its inception in 2010, it has focused on improving outcomes for whānau and families through effective service provision. It is currently implemented by the Ministry of Health, Te Puni Kōkiri and the Ministry of Social Development. For more information on Whānau Ora, go to www.tpk.govt.nz/en/whakamahia/whanau-ora/

Earlier this year three non-government organisations; Te Pou Matakana, Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu and Pasifika Futures were appointed as Whānau Ora commissioning agencies. These agencies are tasked with developing and supporting local initiatives to achieve Whānau Ora outcomes.

The Whānau Ora Partnership Group will help guide the Crown’s approach to Whānau Ora.

Iwi Representative Profiles

  • Naida Glavish is the Chairperson of Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua and the Chief Advisor on Tikanga Māori at Waitematā and Auckland District Health Boards. Naida has a great deal of experience representing iwi interests across a range of initiatives to enhance Māori wellness.
  • Rāhui Papa is the Chairperson of Waikato-Tainui’s executive board Te Arataura and he represents Pōhara Marae on Te Kauhanganui, the Waikato-Tainui tribal parliament. Rāhui chairs Kanae Kakariki, a community based trust that seeks to assist in employment through helping the environment. He has held leading roles in secondary school kapa haka fora, asset holdings companies and farm trusts amongst other local, community and national committees.
  • Sir Mark Solomon is the Chairperson of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and he is on the board of Te Pūtahitanga, the Whānau Ora commissioning agency for the South Island. He is also Chairperson of Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura and has held directorships on a number of companies.
  • Richard Steedman is the Claims Manager for the Mōkai Pātea Waitangi Claims Trust. He has extensive governance experience representing a range of iwi entities, including Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Tamakōpiri and Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Hauiti. He also has experience working for the Rangitikei District Council and the Whanganui District Health Board.
  • Raniera (Sonny) Tau is the Chairperson of Te Rūnanga ā Iwi o Ngāpuhi and the Deputy Chair of Te Ohu Kaimoana. He has extensive experience representing iwi interests in a range of fora.
  • Dr Hope Tūpara is the Chair of Te Rūnanga o Tūranganui-a-Kiwa, and is the Chair of Ngāi Tāmanuhiri Iwi Trust. She has a PhD in Public Health from Massey University, and has a background in health science as a midwife, clinical midwifery lecturer and a health researcher.