Health Promotion Agency Establishment Board announced

  • Tony Ryall

Health Minister Tony Ryall has announced the members of the Health Promotion Agency Establishment Board.

Dr Lee Mathias has been appointed chair. She is deputy chair of the Auckland District Health Board.

The other members are:
• Mr Hayden Wano, chair of Health Sponsorship Council
• Mr Rea Wikaira, chair of ALAC
• Professor Grant Schofield, public health expert in nutrition and physical activity
• Ms Katherine Rich, CEO Food and Grocery Council

In August, Cabinet agreed to dis-establish the Alcohol Advisory Council of New Zealand (ALAC) and the Health Sponsorship Council (HSC) and transfer their functions to a health promotion body combining relevant functions from ALAC, HSC and the Ministry of Health.

The Establishment Board will end in mid-2012.