Hauraki Collective framework agreement signed

  • Christopher Finlayson
Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

The Crown today signed a framework agreement for negotiations towards settling shared historical Treaty claims in the Hauraki/Coromandel region, Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Christopher Finlayson announced.

The Hauraki Collective Framework Agreement covers 12 Hauraki iwi, and outlines the process for ongoing negotiations towards settlement of shared claims, including possible elements of a settlement. It was signed by the Crown and the 12 iwi of the Hauraki Collective in Whakatiwai.

"The signing of this Framework Agreement represents significant progress in the Hauraki/Coromandel region," Mr Finlayson said. "I welcome the commitment from iwi in the area to work together towards settlement of their historical Treaty claims."

"Because of the location of the region, the number of iwi and the complexity of claims involved, it is also an important step towards the Government's goal of settling historical Treaty claims by 2014."

The iwi involved in the Hauraki Collective are Ngāti Hako, Ngāti Paoa, Ngāti Tamaterā, Ngāti Tara-Tokanui, Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki, Ngāti Whanaunga, Ngāti Hei, Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Pukenga, Te Patukirikiri, Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki and Ngā Rahiri Tumutumu..

All iwi involved in the Collective either have formal or interim mandates from their people. Te Puni Kōkiri is running a formal mandating process alongside the settlement negotiations.

What is the Collective Framework Agreement?

The Framework Agreement sets out:

  • a) offers to the Hauraki Collective of specific items of financial and commercial redress;
  • b) a process by which the Crown and Hauraki Collective will negotiate further redress following the signing of this Framework Agreement; and
  • c) the general scope, objectives and procedures for formal negotiations between the Crown and the Hauraki Collective.

What are the main elements in the Collective Framework Agreement?

The Agreement includes offers of redress including the right to purchase the Crown's interests in a number of forests and a right of first refusal over core Crown properties. The Agreement also acknowledges the cultural importance of Tikapa Moana (the Hauraki Gulf), Te Tai Tamahine (east coast of the Coromandel Peninsula), Te Aroha and Moehau maunga and the Waihou and Piako rivers.

How long has it taken the Collective to reach this agreement?

In 2009, Sir Douglas Graham presented the parameters of a Crown offer to claimant groups in Kapara, Tāmaki Makaurau and Coromandel-Hauraki.  Subsequently, the Hauraki Collective was formed and began meeting in April 2010. The Framework Agreement is the Collective's first major negotiation milestone.

What are the next steps in the Treaty settlement process?

The Framework Agreement will form the basis of negotiations towards an Agreement in Principle or similar documents to be signed in 2011.