Gallipoli student essay winners announced

  • Helen Clark
Prime Minister

Prime Minister Helen Clark today announced that ten secondary school students had been chosen to travel to Gallipoli as part of the official delegation taking part in the commemorations, after winning the student essay competition.

"The winning essays were written by students from schools in Kaipara, Auckland, Waikato, Napier, Paraparaumu, Wellington, Nelson, Christchurch and Gore," Helen Clark said.

"I congratulate all the winners on their essays and on showing an interest in a pivotal time in New Zealand history. Many were motivated to enter the essay competition through family connections with the Gallipoli campaign, while others were keen to explore the characteristics of the ANZAC soldiers and how their service and sacrifice helped shape the people we are today.

"The winners were selected from 222 entries and judged by the former Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Jonathan Hunt, who has judged these student essay competitions over the past five years. Mr Hunt described the overall standard of entries as probably the highest in the five years he has been judging," Helen Clark said.

The winners are:
Alice Krzanich, Kaipara College
Megan Rorich, Macleans College, Howick
Thomas McGarry, Mt Albert Grammar School, Auckland
Anna Smith, Waikato Diocesan School
Paul Smith, Napier Boys High School
Hannah Wilson, Paraparaumu College
Jennifer Niven, Samuel Marsden Collegiate, Wellington
Guy Williams, Nelson College
David Dingwall, Christ's College, Christchurch
Natalie Hall, Gore High School

The students will travel to Gallipoli with the official delegation on an RNZAF 757. The delegation also includes the Chief of the New Zealand Defence Force, Air Marshal Bruce Ferguson; New Zealand Defence Force personnel; 33 veterans of past wars; and a sizeable media delegation.