Further sanctions for those supporting Russia’s illegal invasion of Ukraine

Foreign Affairs

Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta has announced further sanctions on Belarusian entities and military actors supporting Russia’s actions in Ukraine, as part of the Government’s ongoing response to Russia’s war of aggression.

The latest round of sanctions covers nine Belarusian individuals and entities – five military personnel, two financial institutions, and two state-owned enterprises which have supported the invasion of Ukraine.

“The Belarusian government continues to provide strategic support to Russia in its illegal and unjustified invasion of Ukraine,” Nanaia Mahuta said.

“They have helped train Russian military forces and are supporting their operations from the territory of Belarus by enabling the transport of Russian personnel and the storage of military equipment.

“Belarus has also agreed to the stationing of Russian nuclear weapons on its territory and continues to allow Moscow is to use Belarusian financial institutions to evade some sanctions.

“Imposing sanctions on these individuals and entities underscores Aotearoa New Zealand’s continued condemnation of all those assisting Russia in its unjustified and illegal assault on Ukraine. We continue to call on Belarus to immediately cease its support for Russia in this war.

“These sanctions, alongside partner countries, is part of an international response to Russia’s aggression, seeking to apply further pressure on Belarus to cease its support for this unjustifiable and illegal war,” Nanaia Mahuta said.

More information about sanctions, travel bans, and export controls against Russia and Belarus, as well as diplomatic, military and economic support to Ukraine, can be found on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade website here.