Further sanctions on Russian military support and Belarusian financial sector

Foreign Affairs

Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta today announced a new tranche of 23 sanctions as part of New Zealand ongoing response to Russia’s illegal and unjustified assault on Ukraine.

The further sanctions target Russia’s military-industrial complex, paramilitary groups, and individuals involved in unlawfully transporting and deporting Ukrainian children to Russia. They also capture several further Belarusian financial institutions in response to the escalating support Belarus is providing in aid of Russia’s military aggression in Ukraine.

“Aotearoa New Zealand continues to stand in support of Ukraine and condemns the individuals and entities contributing to Russia’s abhorrent actions,” Nanaia Mahuta said.

“Three Russian individuals covered by these sanctions were recently involved in separating children from their families by facilitating deportation of Ukrainian children to Russia.

“New Zealand condemns these abhorrent, despicable and immoral acts and calls on Russia to immediately cease its ongoing violent assault on Ukraine, its people and its children.

“These sanctions target 14 individuals and entities of the Russian military-industrial complex. They develop, manufacture or procure weapons, electronic components and technology (such as microelectronics and semiconductors) used by Russia to wage its aggressive war against Ukraine.

“Belarus is actively supporting Russia as it continues to breach international law and fracture international peace and security – the very thing Russia is obliged to protect and maintain as a Member of the United Nations Security Council.

“The Belarusian regime has confirmed Russian controlled nuclear weapons are being stationed on its territory which borders Ukraine. New Zealand strongly opposes the proliferation and sharing of nuclear weapons and sees this move as a direct threat to Ukraine, its neighbouring allies, and a further attempt to destabilise the region.

“The six Belarusian entities being sanctioned include Belarus banks and show New Zealand’s continued condemnation of Belarus’ actions,” Nanaia Mahuta said.

Since the passing of the Russia Sanctions Act in March 2022, Aotearoa New Zealand has adopted more than 20 rounds of sanctions on over 1,500 individuals and entities, ensuring that we remain in step with international sanctions efforts.

More information about sanctions, travel bans, and export controls against Russia and Belarus, as well as diplomatic, military and economic support to Ukraine, can be found on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.