Five New Kura Kaupapa Maori in 1998

  • Brian Donnelly
Associate Minister of Education

Associate Education Minister Brian Donnelly announced today that new kura kaupapa Maori will be established next year at Port Waikato, Wanganui, Hawera, Hastings and Dunedin.

The five new schools will bring the number of official kura kaupapa Maori to 59.

Kura kaupapa Maori are state schools where Maori is the principal language of instruction. Their philosophical approach and teaching is based on Maori traditions, knowledge and customs. They became state-funded in 1990.

Mr Donnelly said kura kaupapa Maori were now recognised as excellent vehicles for the revitalisation and retention of te reo Maori.

"The Government's continued support of kura kaupapa Maori is a testament to our support for te reo Maori," said the Minister. "They are a recognition that learning in te reo Maori has positive spin-offs for all New Zealanders in terms of the social, economic and political growth of our

"I congratulate these kura for their foresight in taking a pathway that is by no means easy in terms of resources and skills," said Mr Donnelly.

"In these and other kura, they will engender in their pupils a feeling of pride of purpose, a recognition
of the importance of traditional and modern customs and practices and an appreciation of the importance of the Maori language and English in a modern society. The Government fully supports the thrust of local iwi and kohanga reo."