• Tau Henare
Maori Affairs

The Minister of Maori Affairs, the Hon Tau Henare, and the Minister of Communications, the Hon Maurice Williamson today announced the membership of a group to help establish a Maori television trust.

The Ministers have appointed Bill Falconer (Chair), Whaimutu Dewes, Robyn Bargh, Waihoroi Shortland and Ian Taylor.

On 19 May the Government announced its policy on Maori television. The Ministers of Maori Affairs and Communications said that they would appoint a small group to advise on the establishment of a Maori trust to manage assets needed to set up a nationwide Maori television channel. These assets include the television frequencies set aside by the Government for the promotion of the Maori language. The Government confirmed that Maori language television programmes will continue to be purchased through Te Mangai Paho on a competitive basis.

"The role of the group will be to report to the Ministers on all of the many issues that will need to be resolved before a Maori television trust can be established.

"We are very pleased with the membership of the group. The group possesses a wealth of experience and expertise in business, management, Maori language and broadcasting", the Ministers said.

The establishment group is expected to complete its work over the next few months, and detailed arrangements are expected to be announced by September 1998.