Electoral Commission Chairperson reappointed

  • Judith Collins

Justice Minister Judith Collins has announced the reappointment of Hon Sir Hugh Williams QC as Chairperson of the Electoral Commission for a term of three years.

“Sir Hugh continues to provide the Commission with very able legal leadership and I’m pleased he has agreed to continue to serve in this important office,” Ms Collins says.

The Electoral Commission administers parliamentary elections and referenda, the allocation of time and money for the broadcast of election programmes, conduct of the Māori Electoral Option, servicing the work of the Representation Commission, the provision of advice, reports and public education on electoral matters, and electoral enrolment services for both parliamentary and local body elections.

The Commission has a board of three members comprising, a part-time Chairperson, a part-time Deputy Chairperson and a full-time Chief Electoral Officer, who is also the Chief Executive.

Sir Hugh was appointed as a Judge of the High Court in 1995 and retired from the Bench in 2009. He previously served as a Master of the High Court for six years and was for many years the Chancellor of Massey University. He has a long-standing involvement in the administration of justice and significant governance experience as a highly engaged University Chancellor. Sir Hugh was appointed as the President of the former Electoral Commission in 2009 and then as Chair of the present Commission in 2011.