Elder To Host Police Ministers' Council

  • Jack Elder

The 34th meeting of the Australasian Police Ministers' Council will be hosted by Police Minister Jack Elder on Wednesday. 10 June, he announced today.

The meeting will be between 1.30pm and 5pm in the Plaza International 6th floor function rooms.

"I look forward to discussing a wide range of issues of importance to public safety in both countries," Mr Elder said.

The Australasian Police Ministers' Council meets twice yearly to facilitate cooperation across state borders and across the Tasman.

The participants in Wednesday's meeting are:

New Zealand: Hon Jack Elder (chair)

Aust. Commonwealth: Senator The Hon Amanda Vanstone

New South Wales: Hon Paul Whelan

Northern Territory: Hon Mike Reed

Queensland: Hon Russell Cooper

South Australia: Hon Iain Evans

Tasmania: Hon John Bestwick

Victoria: Hon Bill McGrath

Western Australia: Hon John Day