Education Excellence Awards finalists

  • Hekia Parata

Education Minister Hekia Parata says eleven entrants have been selected as finalists for the prestigious Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards.

The entrants include schools, early childhood centres and a tertiary institution. They come from both major centres and provincial towns.

“The awards, in just their second year, provide an opportunity to publicly recognise, celebrate and share the highly effective education practice we have in New Zealand and further lift the status of the teaching profession,” Ms Parata says.

Three of the finalists are finalists in two categories. They were chosen by a panel of experts from 82 entries.

“The entries highlight the importance of engaging with students and the wider community, collaboration between teaching professionals and basing decisions on evidence. They also showcase innovative and effective teaching practice.

“I want to acknowledge everyone who entered this year and congratulate those who have made it through as finalists,” says Ms Parata.

Members of a judging panel will undertake visits to finalists during May-June, and the winners will be selected by this panel on 13 June. The category winners and supreme award winner will be announced by the Prime Minister on 17 June.

The winners of the four categories will each receive a professional development opportunity.