Consumer Advocacy Council members appointed

Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Four appointments have been made to the Consumer Advocacy Council, Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs announced today.

The four appointees are:

  • Desiree Mahy (Tūhoe); currently the Manukura (Chair) of Te Hou Ora Whanau Services, a Director of Thankyou Payroll Limited, a Director of Pāmu and a Trustee of the Happy You Charitable Trust. Desiree is also the principal of Tika Tonu Limited.
  • Jessica Wilson; currently Principal Adviser - Media Content in Communications, Marketing and Engagement at Victoria University.
  • Nanette Moreau Hammond; currently the Chair of the Advertising Standards Authority Appeal Board.
  • Norman Evans; most recently the General Manager, Southland and Otago Regional Engineering Collective from 2021-2022.

“These four appointees bring a broad range of experience in the consumer affairs and advocacy space, particularly in the energy sector which is a key focus for the council,” David Clark said.

“The appointees also bring diversity of age and background, and I look forward to the work they will do, together with Chairperson Deborah Hart, in strengthening the consumer voice,” David Clark said.

Each appointment is made for a term of three years, to take effect on 5 July 2022.

The Consumer Advocacy Council was established to be the trusted, credible, authoritative and independent advocate for residential and small business electricity consumers. Its role is to advocate on behalf of these consumers by providing evidenced-based advocacy on policy and regulatory consultations, and in decision-making processes.

It was established in response to the Electricity Price Review (EPR) finding that residential households and small businesses struggle to make their voices heard and exert influence over decisions affecting them in the electricity sector.

Further information regarding the Council be found on its website and other EPR recommendations can be found on MBIE’s website.