Commerce appointments announced

  • Paul Goldsmith
Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Commerce and Consumer Affairs Minister Paul Goldsmith has today announced the appointment of Ainsley McLaren to the Financial Markets Authority (FMA) Board and the reappointment of Sir Bruce Robertson and Simon Hassan to the Disciplinary Committee under the Financial Advisers Act.

Ms McLaren has been appointed as a new member of the FMA Board for a five-year term.

“Ms McLaren has a strong managed funds and investment background. Her practical experience of financial services in the banking sector will add value to the FMA Board,” says Mr Goldsmith.  

“I am also pleased to announce the reappointment of Sir Bruce as Chair and Mr Hassan as a member of the Disciplinary Committee.

“Both appointees have been reappointed for a further five year term each and will ensure a continued presence of judicial and industry experience on the Committee,” says Mr Goldsmith.

The Committee conducts disciplinary proceedings arising out of complaints against authorised financial advisers referred to it by the FMA.

Further information on the FMA and the Disciplinary Committee under the Financial Advisors Act can be found at