• Maurice Williamson
Information Technology

This morning we recognise talent and achievement in a field that is emerging at the forefront of New Zealand's future, Minister for Information Technology Hon Maurice Williamson announced this morning.

Mr Williamson was speaking at the New Zealand Computer Society's National Secondary Schools Programming Competition Awards function in Wellington.

This year's competition was won by "BUGS" a Wellington regional team: Tim Thomson from Paraparaumu College, Andrew Dixie from Onslow College and Josh Saunders from Newlands College. Team Coach is Wayne Leong a Computer Studies Lecturer at Wellington Polytechnic.

"New Zealand knowledge workers will lead a revolution in this country that is just beginning to be understood here, but in countries such as Finland, has truly been recognised and fully embraced," the Minister said.

"The skills and innovation the likes of which have been clearly shown by the team members of "BUGS," will help create the technology laboratory New Zealand will need to become," Mr Williamson said.

BUGS travel to Darwin early next month to compete in the International Secondary Schools Programming Competition.