A blend of the new and experienced for Waitangi Tribunal

  • Hon Nanaia Mahuta
Māori Development

ori Development Minister Hon Nanaia Mahuta has announced the appointment of eight men and women to the Waitangi Tribunal, three members who are new and five who have been re-appointed.

“This blend of new energy and experience will help us make progress while keeping the waka steady,” said Nanaia Mahuta.

Ruakere Hond, Kim Ngarimu and Prue Kapua have been announced as the three new Tribunal members. All have been appointed for three years.

Nanaia Mahuta said they bring collective expertise across the fields of language revitalisation, governance, women’s and children’s issues, the environment, public sector, community leadership and Treaty of Waitangi expertise.

“They have already contributed so much to Aotearoa New Zealand. The Tribunal will benefit greatly from their skills as it embarks upon significant kaupapa in the coming months.”

Dr Angela Ballara, Dr Monty Soutar, Ronald Crosby, Tania Simpson and Professor Pou Temara have been reappointed to the Waitangi Tribunal.

This group collectively holds extensive expertise in history, tikanga, reo, law, business and public policy.

The nature of the claims coming to the Tribunal are now changing from historical issues (pre-1992) to more contemporary claims (post-1992).

“As I consider the people who will hear these claims on behalf of New Zealand, I take very seriously the mix of expertise, mātauranga and perspective they each bring.

“It is critical that we keep focused as we enter a period of change. I sincerely believe these eight men and women will play a vital role in achieving that,” said Nanaia Mahuta.

Media notes

Ruakere Hond

Mr Hond (Taranaki, Te Ātiawa) is a longstanding Māori Language advocate and a stalwart of the Parihaka community. He has held several leadership roles in Māori Language organisations including Te Reo o Taranaki, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and Te Ataarangi. He has served two terms as a member of the Te Taura Whiri i te reo Māori and is currently a member of Te Mātāwai. He was a negotiator in the Treaty settlement process for his iwi of Taranaki and was instrumental in work to achieve reconciliation between the Crown and the Parihaka community.

Prue Kapua

Ms Kapua (Te Arawa) is a lawyer with an extensive background in the Treaty sector. She has supported whānau, hapū and iwi claimants in several Waitangi Tribunal inquiries. Prue was a member of the Refugee Status Appeals Authority, Deputy Chair of the Medical Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and a director of First Health NZ Ltd (a Southern Cross NZ Ltd subsidiary). In 2000, the Minister of Health appointed her to represent the interests of Māori women in the Gisborne Cervical Cancer Inquiry. She also advised the Ministry of Health on its Treaty policy in respect of a national screening programme. She is a member of the Ministry of Health’s National Kaitiaki Group and is chair of the Compliance Panel of International Code of Marketing of Breast Milk substitutes in New Zealand. She is also the current president of the Māori Womens Welfare League.

Kim Ngarimu

Ms Ngarimu (Ngāti Porou) has an extensive public service career dating back to the early 1990’s. She has held senior positions at Te Puni Kōkiri (Deputy Secretary), Ministry of Women (Acting Chief Executive) and the Waitangi Tribunal (Executive Director). She is currently self-employed as a consultant and a professional governor. Among other things, she is a member of Te Māngai Pāho and a review panel member for Whānau Ora.

For biographies on the reappointed Waitangi Tribunal members visit the Waitangi Tribunal website.